Stoma Itching and Bleeding: Irrigation Cone Insertion Issue?

Replies
Views
Douglas john

I've been irrigating for the last eight years with an electric pump. I've noticed that often, when I take my cap off, there has been a (little) bleeding on the underside of the stoma where it meets the skin. But it itches, it itches... it itches!! I think that it might be because I insert the irrigation cone into the stoma. Has anybody else had any such problem?

Past Member

Hi,
I don't irrigate but I rinse my bag with water and sometimes it irritates the edges of the stoma and bleeds. Sometimes it bleeds a lot.

It itches a lot or when a hair gets pulled under the adhesive. As far as the bleed area, I use stoma powder and soon the itching stops.

You will get other answers that may be very helpful.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,470 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Deziner

For itching, try an ice cube on that area between applications.
Also, OTC cortisone will relieve the itching.
Sharon

Douglas john

Thanks for the suggestions so far. Never quite sure about putting creams near the stoma.

Bill
Hi there.