Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Relationships

Itchy Stoma (no - Im English)

Sat Sep 04, 2021 1:44 pm
I've been irrigating for the last eight years with an electric pump. I've noticed that often, when I take my cap off, there has been a (little) bleeding on the underside of the Stoma where it meets the skin. But it itches, IT ITCHES. . . IT ITCHES ! !.  I think that it might be because I insert the irrigation cone into the stome. Has anybody else had any such probelm ?< >  < >
These are the top 5 issues ostomates face:

1. Dating and relationships
2. Concealing the pouch
3. Foods to eat and avoid
4. Losing or gaining weight
5. Pouch ballooning

Check out this video from MeetAnOstoMate.
Past Member
Sat Sep 04, 2021 2:04 pm
Hi, I don't irrigate but I rinse my bag with water and sometimes it irritates the edges of the stoma and bleeds. Sometimes it bleeds a lot. It itches a lot or when a hair gets pulled under the adhesive. As far as the bleed area I use stoma powder and soon the itching stops. You will get other answers that may be very helpful.
Sat Sep 04, 2021 7:11 pm
For itching, try ice cube on that area between applications. Also, OTC cortisone will relieve the itching. Sharon
Sun Sep 05, 2021 2:53 am
Thanks for the suggestions so far. Never quite sure about putting creams near the Stoma.
Sun Sep 05, 2021 6:30 am