Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Relationships

Ostomy Memories of the Rat Race

Sun Nov 21, 2021 4:02 am
This is a great community. Consider joining.

AS A RECENT COLLEGE GRADUATE, I went through a series of temporary, awful jobs before I actually got a “real” job: copywriter. I worked in the advertising department for a chain of department stores, producing copy for various products sold by the chain. Somehow, my specialty became men’s clothing and large appliances. So I spent my days hunched in a small cubby hole spewing out copy extoling the sartorial advantages of certain items of men’s suits, shirts, etc. that were going on sale, and praising the benefits to be gained from the store’s washers, dryers, refrigerators, and so on. It was all over-the-top crapola, of course, but that’s what advertising is all about. My biggest claim to fame during that period was the time the stores opened in the morning and were swarmed by shoppers waving in their hands the copy that I had written that had drawn them to the store like cattle with a whiff of water just ahead. Eventually, I soured on the job and returned to school, saying goodbye to the constant deadlines, the professional staff jealousy, the autocratic copy editor overseeing my work, and the lengthy liquid lunches down the street at the Jockey Bar. That one little dose of out-in-the-world reality was enough to send me scurrying back to the safe, secure university environs for another three years. I was just putting off the inevitable, of course, but everyone grows up at their own pace before entering the rat race. The trouble is, as the great Lily Tomlin said, the problem of being in the rat race is that, even if you win, you’re still a rat.

These are the top 5 issues ostomates face:

1. Dating and relationships
2. Concealing the pouch
3. Foods to eat and avoid
4. Losing or gaining weight
5. Pouch ballooning

Check out this video from MeetAnOstoMate.
Sun Nov 21, 2021 10:22 am

Hello HenryM.