Ostomy Memories of Advertising

In this discussion
Replies
Views
HenryM

MY FIRST GOOD JOB out of college was as a copywriter for a chain of department stores.  The advertising department was squirrelled away on an upper floor of the downtown store.  My cubbyhole cohabited with a few other writers and commercial artists who produced ads for the newspapers.  I was assigned to focus upon men’s clothing and hard appliances (refrigerators, ovens, etc).  The experience caused me to agree with the observation of Raymond Chandler:  “Chess is as elaborate a waste of human intelligence as you can find outside an advertising agency.”  In short, we produced drivel, pure bunkum, praising the supposed glories of the products to be found in the stores.  One day I was told that my copy for golf garb was so successful that people rushed into the stores waving the ad in their hands.  Is this why I got a college degree? I asked myself.  But the atmosphere around the place was very attractive.  The head of the office was a large woman who somehow managed to get into and out of a small Karmen Ghia automobile, but she possessed a sense of humor.  We often repaired to a bar around the corner where we drank a long lunch.  I bought an MGB and had breakfast at a deli across the street from my office every morning.  But the shallowness of the work I was doing finally got to me.  I put it behind me and never looked back.  I’ve never believed any ad I’ve seen since.  

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,095 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

bowsprit