Tucking Ileostomy Bag Under Clothing: Thick Output Concerns

In this discussion
Replies
Views
Daria Luna

I'm pretty new with my ileostomy and I need feedback from people who tuck their bag under their clothing. I fear doing this because my output is pretty thick and I'm concerned about it not making it to the bottom of the bag. I usually wear leggings that aren't very tight at the waist. Should I be concerned or will it be ok if I tuck my bag?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,099 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

AlexT

You can help by lubricating the inside of your bag. I think you'll be okay to tuck it in.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Daria Luna
Reply to AlexT

Yes, I always use the lubricant. Ok, I'm going to give it a go, no pun intended. Thanks for your response, buddy.

AlexT
Reply to Daria Luna

You're welcome. I also highly recommend carrying a travel-size of flushable wet wipes for using in public bathrooms. Way easier than using those big rolls of toilet paper and trying to tear off pieces one-handed while you're holding your bag.

HenryM

I've been tucking it in since '64.  Can't imagine otherwise.

Staying Hydrated with an Ostomy with LeeAnne Hayden | Hollister
TerryLT