Downed Verizon Wires

In this discussion
Replies
Views
NJ Bain

Everyone,

I'd like to share the customer service experience or lack there of with Verizon. First off, I'd like you to know that I'm a former cable technician. And I know the difference between electrical, cable and phone wires. And I apologize in advance for the long post so bear with me.

On July 3rd, 2018, there were 4 Verizon phone wires downed by a storm on my street in Westwood, NJ. I called Westwood PD and they placed some cones temporarily to keep people from running into them with their cars.

I searched online on how to report these downed wires only to find many people have a similar problem. There is NO direct number or any way what so ever to immediately report downed Verizon wires EXCEPT the online chat feature. I chatted with 2 different people and attempted to report the downed wires. The first person did not seem to have a grasp of the English language. They claimed they would send a technician out the next day. 2 days later, I still had wires on the street. I got back on the chat service. The second person I chatted with had a better grasp of the
English language, and promised to have a technician out within 24 hours. The next day, nothing.

On July 7th, 2018, a Verizon truck drove down my street, saw the downed wires, stopped, backed up and drove away, with several of my neighbors as witnesses. An hour later, an Optimum cable technician showed up and started repairing the problem. I went out and spoke with him, explaining that I was a former cable technician and that I knew the lines were Verizon phone and fiber wire. He confirmed it saying that they were absolutely Verizon phone and fiber lines. I'm assuming that Verizon contacted Optimum and told them that it was their wires and their problem. So what I'm about to tell you next is what you need to know about downed wires.