Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Dating 21,173 members

ark1990
member

About
I just turned 22 in April; however, I look like I'm about 15. It doesn't really bother me though, I get my kicks from seeing people's expressions when I prove my real age!
I have one brother who is 19.
I grew up in a rural area, so I know how to change the oil in my car, milk a cow, drive a tractor, and hunt. But that doesn't define me. Currently, I'm a junior at a decidedly urban university. (Country gal moment: I just figured out that I can order delivery with a credit card. hahaha)
I'm out-going and try to remain positive in all circumstances. I've been told my optimism can get annoying at times:) I also have a different sense of humor: meaning that I'm almost never serious. Sarcasm is my favorite mask. I like to goof off every once and a while too. Also, I've never turned down a good philosophical conversation either.
I used to love to play sports, but my Crohn's became so active and severe that I was forced to give up playing. Now that I have my new ileostomy (version 2.0) I'm in less pain, have more energy and am picking up my old loves with a vengeance: basketball, softball, running, tennis, biking.
I can't do enough reading! I'll read anything with words between two covers. I don't really have a favorite genre, though. Reading led me to Ancient Egypt, another intense interest. History is another topic I enjoy.
I'm interested in so many other things; too many to list in one bio. Just check out the list and such.

Hi there, I have Crohn's and was diagnosed when I was 13. Currently, I'm a college student studying Anthropology and Spanish. I'm just searching for someone around my age who is living and dealing with the same situations I am. I'd like to travel abroad someday (sooner than later). I like to think I'm easy to talk to, sympathetic, and understanding, but then again I'm biased.
Other Members
f, 63
Ontario, Canada
m, 29
I have suffered with an ileostomy all my life an would like to meet a girl who suffers wi...
United Kingdom
f, 72
I think it would be fun and interesting to share thoughts, ideas and experiences with oth...
Florida, United States
m, 39
New to this site so not really sure what to write to be honest. I work as a handyman/cont...
United Kingdom
m, 37
Hi my name is Dean, I was born with a medical condition, my bladder was deformed and had n...
United Kingdom
Currently online: 10    
2 members & 8 visitors
lovely (f)
w30bob (m)
 
 
Welcome to MeetAnOstoMate - the largest online community for people with an ostomy.
If you have questions or just want to meet and chat with others, join us and enjoy our great community.