Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Dating 20,700 members

Counting My Blessings
member

About
I like to do creative projects. I arrange music for my Celtic harp and then struggle to learn to play them which is tough because my memory isn't the best anymore. I also do watercolor painting and marquetry. I like many types of music, as long as I can understand the words. I think that's an age thing.

I have now finished with chemotherapy, and when all of the activities I've gotten myself into during retirement allow me to get out of Florida, I go to my 2nd home in the mountains of North Carolina.

I am committed to working for Relay for Life and just started my own team at the Spring Hill, FL site (Count Your Blessings). I am counting my blessings and making them count. My vision is to have no more survivors and a lot less ostomates. If you live in the area, consider joining my team!!

I have recently taken early retirement because maintenance chemotherapy had sapped the energy needed to continue teaching. I have seen my way through tough times with the first colostomy to pretty good times now since the second colostomy. When I discovered this site, I thought I might have something to offer to others who might be struggling like I did the first 5 months.

I just completed a book about the experience and that was an experience itself. I had helped hundreds of students write and publish books. It's a lot different when you do it yourself. But I'm still excited about writing, and have started my second book. This will be a team effort involving my support group, and perhaps some of the contributors on this site.

And finally, I am active in the Hernando County Ostomy Association, am the secretary and web manager, and am a certified volunteer visitor. I am editor for our current project, an electronic book of stories submitted by ostomates.
Other Members
m, 71
I am looking for an attractive, out going, friendly, humorous, slender or toned shaped, c...
California, United States
m, 72
My professional life has been in business, communications, and entertainment, publishing,...
California, United States
m, 75
Grew up in Europe - The Netherlands, emigrated to Canada in'64, at age 19 by myself, spent...
Ontario, Canada
m, 69
I was diagnosed with colon cancer a year ago. Since then I've been through chemo, radia...
Arizona, United States
m, 69
Hello. I'm very happy with my stoma. Being incontinent isn't the catastrophe that I tho...
United Kingdom
Currently online: 8    
2 members & 6 visitors
lovely (f)
w30bob (m)
 
 
Welcome to MeetAnOstoMate - the largest online community for people with an ostomy.
If you have questions or just want to meet and chat with others, join us and enjoy our great community.