Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Dating 20,349 members

Kirst39
member

About
Hi I'm from a tiny place called New Zealand, it's beautiful, however where I live is constantly shaken daily by earthquakes, so life is kind of exciting at times and survival has become the norm.

I have a medical background as well as education, I recently stopped work to return to finish my education degree.
I have three teenage children, two left still at home, although my son is independent, they keep my life interesting:) I have been doing it on my own for six years and I'm absolutely o.k with that. I love technology, I am a bit nerdy as love to research and expand the mind, I'm passionate about music and musicals including theater.

I'm an independent type and don't fall easily in spite of adversity. I like to give anything a go, well most things. I'm non judgmental and have a quirky sense of humor. I have a passion for animals and see the beauty in nature, no I'm not a hippy so don't go there:) that's about it.....

I have a Urostomy or urinary diversion. I have had this new one for just over a year and wow what a difference!!!

I had this one made just a week before our beautiful city was hit with a major earthquake, so it's been an interesting juggle of health and earthquakes :)

I had a Neo Bladder formed in 2008 and it was unsuccessful so a few more ops to correct it didn't work, now I'm very happy with what I have:)

I'm looking to meet other people who may want to share their experiences, have a laugh or just a chat.. We are a unique group and sometimes it's just great to connect with others whom really do know what this journey means...
Other Members
m, 47
I am an 40 year old internal medicine specialist and for the last 3 years, an IBD patient...
Ontario, Canada
m, 48
I was diagnosed with AIDS in 2000 and Anal Cancer in 2015... Survived both. I have a colos...
California, United States
m, 44
I am 35 years old and have suffered from crohns disease for around 10 years, had ileostomy...
United Kingdom
m, 46
To be able to chat, help and socialise with folk in same situation as myself. Maybe find ...
United Kingdom
m, 52
Laid back. Like going out to dinner and movies or quiet evenings at home. I have UC and a...
Kentucky, United States
Currently online: 8    
8 visitors
 
 
Welcome to MeetAnOstoMate - the largest online community for people with an ostomy.
If you have questions or just want to meet and chat with others, join us and enjoy our great community.