Troubleshooting Adhesive and Leaking Issues with Colostomy Bag

Replies
Views
Virgo68

Hello again. I'm still fairly new with a colostomy and always have questions. I'm using Adapt barrier rings for my Hollister bag but it still leaks under the ring. I've tried the thicker one and also the slim, and even the paste. Is there a better barrier ring? Besides it still leaking under the barrier, I'm having a hard time getting the "glued" adhesive off my skin. Other than the adhesive remover wipes and scraping it off with my nails, what else can I try to remove it?

Thank you all for your suggestions. I'm going to try different brands and see what happens. It's so nice to hear from everyone on this site.

Beth22

Coloplast makes barrier rings, ConvaTec makes barrier rings, Safe n Simple and a few others. Do you leak with the wafers you have now? If so, I would try another brand and see if it works better. You can call the companies and ask for samples.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,471 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

CrappyColon

Have you tried any other brands besides Hollister? Do you have access to an ostomy nurse?

Virgo68
Reply to Beth22

I haven't tried any other brands yet, but was looking here to see who might have better suggestions. I'll try getting some samples to see if they work better. Is there a brand that you prefer? Thanks.

Virgo68
Reply to CrappyColon

Yes, I can probably ask my ostomy nurse but I always feel like I'm bothering her too much.

Living with Your Ostomy | Hollister
Daisy2023