Is a Two-Piece Ostomy Pouch Shower-Proof?

Replies
Views
MoeMoe
Aug 11, 2023 6:06 pm

Hi everyone! I have skin irritation and am trying the two-piece pouch based on my nurse's suggestion. The wafer has a material feel to it that is unlike the one piece. Has anyone showered with the two-piece? I'm really new to this so thought I'd ask because I'm still scared to shower without a pouch.

Mysterious Mose
Aug 11, 2023 6:15 pm

I shower with the 2-piece all the time. No problems. I do use a blow dryer on low to dry things. Leaving the wafer wet is a recipe for irritation. At least, for me.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,889 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

SallyK
Aug 11, 2023 6:25 pm

I shower with a two-piece. 🚿

Justbreathe
Aug 11, 2023 7:06 pm

I have an ileostomy and it took me a while to shower without my pouch (a one piece). Many on this site said to "shower without it - it feels great!" I tried it and it was great! Makes my skin all clean and shiny and sometimes I think I hear my stoma singing in the shower ha, ha, ha. I change it every other day and shower without it. Mornings are best for me as Vesuvius (aka Seymour) is inactive first thing in the morning. Since starting this regimen, any of the skin issues I once had - disappeared. JB

Beachboy
Aug 11, 2023 7:57 pm

I shower all the time with a 2-piece. But have switched to showering.....naked. No wafer or bag. Allows easy cleaning of stoma with a wet paper towel. I'm real careful since stoma has no nerves. Don't want to press or rub too hard.