Advice on Ostomy Reversal Prep?

Replies
Views
Patrice
Jan 25, 2012 1:36 pm

Hi everyone. I have been reading your posts since I had an emergency sigmoid colostomy performed on Oct 6. This is my first time posting. My reversal is scheduled for Monday Jan 30th and my doctor has prescribed a bowel prep called Moviprep. I took half the prescribed amount prior to my first surgery as I have a very sensitive colon. However, my doctor is recommending the full 2-course prep this time and I am worried. I would appreciate any advice regarding the prep and what it's like to cleanse the bowel with an ostomy. Thanks so much!

TotallySurprised
Jan 25, 2012 2:34 pm

I know it may seem excessive, however, really cleansing is a huge deal in abdominal surgery as I am sure you are aware.

I had my reversal nearly 2 weeks ago, so far so good! I just sat in a chair with a bucket and my pouch drained directly into the bucket. The prep cleaned me out in a couple of hours and then I showered and went to bed.

Good luck and best wishes for a very speedy recovery!

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 35,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

Patrice
Jan 25, 2012 6:10 pm