Changes in irrigation with diet switch?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic discusses how changing your diet can affect the process of irrigation for ostomy patients, with members sharing their experiences and advice.
charleston_sunny

Hi ya!

I'm kind of new here, although I joined back in 2018, but just recently found this site again. I'm approaching the 3-year mark with my colostomy and would like to see who else on this forum irrigates. I've been irrigating for a couple of years now without issue. Just recently, I changed to a plant-based, whole foods diet and wow, is my colostomy acting like a fool. She now likes to hide below my base plate, making it difficult to irrigate. I have to do a sneak attack on her to get the cone in... LOL! Anyone else experience changes in irrigation when you changed your diet?

Best!

Shannon

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,086 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Puppyluv56

Hi Sunny,

I do irrigate. I have not had that happen to me during irrigation. My diet definitely affects my output but not my stoma. Maybe those that have had this will chime in. It has been talked about quite often but not sure if it has been talked about relating to diet. Curious to hear. You could go back and read some topics about prolapsed stoma. Is this what is happening? Does it just go under your barrier or go into your stomach? Hope you find some clues as to what is happening. Maybe call your stoma nurse.

Puppyluv

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
mild_mannered_super_hero