Pouch Rinsing: Debunking Myths and Sharing Personal Experience

Replies
Views
ibelievein3

If you look at my bio, you'll see that I was an ostomy nurse since 2001 and I have been a permanently ileostomate for 12 years (medically retired). I have seen this topic come up time and time again. Sometimes people are quite passionate about it. Based on my experience, I have formed the following opinions.

1) Rinsing the pouch does not control odor.

2) Rinsing the pouch can loosen the wafer.

3) Most ostomates do not wish to look at their stoma or their anus.

4) It is inconvenient to rinse your pouch with an active lifestyle outside of the home.

As for myself, I regard the end of my pouch as my prosthetic anus (as I do not have one anymore). Since I never washed that far up from my natural anus, I see no reason to start now just because I can see 5" (approximately 12cm) past the anus. With regard to odor, I think ostomates have the advantage. If anybody else has to pass gas, they have very little control. We just have to slip off to the restroom, pop the cap, and leave all the dirty smells there.

HenryM

I agree with you 100%.  I've had an ileostomy since 1964. 

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,455 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

w30bob

Hi ibelievein3,