Colostomy Constipation: Excessive Pressure and Windiness - Any Advice?

Replies
Views
Past Member

My colostomy is 8 days old!
I keep getting a lot of pressure in my stomach. Mona (stoma name) is very, very windy! I am taking 3 Laxido drinks a day as I suffer from slow transit. Just wondering if anyone else has had this?

The only thing Mona has produced is yellow liquid even though I have started adding some carbs back into my diet!

AlexT

You have liquidy output and you are taking a laxative? I'm by no means an expert, but it sounds like your system is all cleaned out and all you're doing is keeping your system basically empty by pumping laxatives into yourself daily.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,450 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member
Reply to AlexT

No no no, I don't mean like a full-on bag of liquid. I mean, I have eaten normally for the past 2 days and all I have passed is about 2 tbsp of yellow liquid.

AlexT

Oh, that makes a difference. I can go nearly 2 days without any output sometimes. I just hate seeing people take a bunch of medicine if it's really not needed. Your ostomy is so new and healing, I'd hate to see you taking stuff if it's just your system healing and no real issue.

Past Member
Reply to AlexT