Seeking advice for skin irritations with retracted innie stoma

Replies
Views
Past Member

Hi - I'm fairly new with a colostomy innie stoma that is so retracted it looks like a pimple now in between my belly rolls. I'm having major issues with skin irritations, sores/blisters because the output goes on my skin regardless of my deep convex wafer. I have tried rings, protection sheets, cutting ring size smaller and nothing. Any suggestions from your own methods?

AlexT

How often do you change your equipment? Maybe changing more often could help your skin by trying to keep it cleaned off more. ‍

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,473 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member
Reply to AlexT

Right now, twice a week per home care services. Tuesdays and Fridays. At first, they wanted me to do it once a week, but it's not feasible.

Past Member

I started off with a Coloplast but it was not convex. Now I'm using a Hollister two-piece system. I ordered some samples recently and I'm going to try different things. So, are you changing three times a week?

AlexT
Reply to Anonymous

Changing your equipment isn't a set-in-stone type thing. They may want you to change once a week, twice a week, or whatever. IMO, your body and your issues should dictate how often you change your equipment, not some home care person. The main goal should be no leaks and keeping your skin in good health. If that means changing more often, I would start there. Good luck.

Stories of Living Life to the Fullest from Ostomy Advocates I Hollister
Past Member