Swimming with an Ostomy: Tips for Men

Replies
Views
Bosco

I'm rather new at this and would like to know how others handle swimming when you have an ostomy--especially the men? My wife and I are going on a cruise in about 2 weeks and I am really anxious about swimming. My colostomy is high on the left (above the beltline). I normally use Sensura 2-piece. It has been suggested that I use a short-sleeve wetsuit but I think that would be awfully hot in the tropics. What do you think?

Miss Scarlet

Hi Bosco
I model swimsuits for a company who make swimwear for people with stomas. I notice you live in America. There will be companies in America, I am sure, who specialize in this type of swimwear. The company I work for has high-waisted men's swimming trunks and you cannot possibly tell the person has an ostomy. Hope this helps. Enjoy your cruise.
Maureen

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
juzza13

Hi Miss Scarlet, have you got any web addresses of the swimsuits?

Miss Scarlet
Hi Juzza13
The company I work for is just starting up and will have a catalogue and website soon. I will put up a post when Glitter Beach Swimwear's website becomes available. Hope this helps.
Maureen
thepiz

Get yourself a bathing suit that comes up higher on the waist...put it on and enjoy yourself.

How to Manage Ostomy Leaks with LeeAnne Hayden | Hollister
loxleyfinger

Bosco

Check out www.stealthbelt.com; I ordered one for my cruise and I'm really impressed.

Mike

Past Member