Advice for Supporting Husband with Ileostomy - Day 5 Post-Op

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic provides advice and support for individuals seeking help in caring for their husband who has recently undergone ileostomy surgery.
Anji

I hope it's okay for me to be here as it's my husband who's had an ileostomy, not me, but he's not one for groups! We're on day 5 after his op, so it's all new to us, although we knew it was going to happen eventually as his bouts of diverticulitis were more and more. Anyway... ANY advice? Random or useful... anything at all that the hospital might not tell us. Also, tips for being supportive because I'm a rubbish nurse and worried about when he's home.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,090 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Cplumber

Try not to sneeze or cough without a pillow held firmly over his tummy, don't strain or lift for at least twice as long as the doctor says to help that core heal and to avoid further hernia issues, wear a hernia belt or binder as much as possible.

Good luck, I will be praying for you.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
AlexT

Perfectly fine for you to be here.

elwick

Hi, in the UK with NHS treatment, you will be put in contact with a Stoma Nurse. They generally know more about aftercare than the hospital staff. Leave it all to them; they will probably visit before and after the patient leaves the hospital. They are the best ones to answer your questions. You are not alone; there are a lot of us out here.

Homie With A Stomie NS

Morning Anji and welcome...