Comparing Hollister and Coloplast Ostomy Bags

Replies
Views
Killshot_24523

So, I'm new to this. I've had a bag, urostomy, for about 10 days. I've only used 2, both 1 piece. But, I found I like 1 and 1 I do not.

Here's the scoop.

The bag out of surgery was a Hollister. It was on for 4 days. The adhesive on the outer edge around the barrier ring irritated the skin. Not a fan. I don't like the valve for emptying. I thought I would, wrong.

Replaced with a Coloplast Sensura. The barrier ring adheres to the skin, nice. No irritation at all. The drain is just a plug. I think there are a couple benefits of the plug. The first is ease of use, but, be smart and hold it higher than the urine in the bag, don't ask why I know this. The second is when a night bag is attached it's flowing. With a valve you have to remember to make sure it's open.

I'm looking forward to trying the Coloplast Sensura Mia Click. I think I want a 2 piece to be able to wear vertical or horizontal depending on the activities I have planned. I'll let y'all know how it goes.

Bill

Hello Killshot.

I don't know too much about bags for urostomies, but one of my ex-clients had what seemed like a very useful bag which had a tube going down his trouser leg to the level of his shoe. On the end of that was a tap for emptying.
I know this because, one day he asked for my help, and I got him to lean on me while he placed his foot on the toilet rim, and I undid the tap for him.
I recall thinking that this all seemed like a very practical, clean and efficient method of management for someone who had mobility issues.

Best wishes

Bill

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,461 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.