Stomach Gurgling and Anxiety Post-Colostomy: Seeking Advice

Replies
Views
Nini4
Nov 23, 2023 11:30 pm

Today, my stomach has been gurgling and making noises it seems all day. Before my colostomy, I didn't think twice about it. But with the bag, I've been nervous all day.

My output is not all liquid, I'm not sure how to explain it but there is soft stool and liquid together.

I had eggs for breakfast, and wonder if that is why. I've been eating eggs since I came home from the hospital but maybe too much?

I did have turkey, mashed potatoes, some dressing, and a small serving of green beans today. I'm still learning what to eat, and when.

I wish I were like so many on here, who have adjusted so wonderfully. I know it's still early for me, just 5 weeks post-op, but today is one of those days where my anxiety takes over.

Any thoughts or insights appreciated. Am I overreacting? It's okay if you say yes!

Thanks

Riva
Nov 23, 2023 11:55 pm

You've got this. You're very new at this new journey. Green beans - chew, chew, chew. Relax and don't overthink every sound and color. Now enjoy.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 35,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

Nini4
Nov 24, 2023 12:06 am
Reply to Riva

Thank you. I will say, I definitely chew my food. I will stop myself from counting bites in my head. I know that probably sounds silly. 😄

Beachboy
Nov 24, 2023 12:10 am