Small Gap Between Stoma and Skin: Should I Be Concerned?

Replies
Views
Kirstickle
Nov 28, 2023 11:15 pm

Hi. Newbie here! I had my ileostomy in November, so it's still very new to me. While I was still in the hospital, I noticed a small hole between my stoma and skin where one of the stitches had been. I spoke to the stoma nurse at the time, who said it was normal. Now the hole has grown a bit; I'd say it's about 0.5 cm long. Is this still considered normal, or should I be concerned and get it looked at?

It's not causing me any issues, by the way :)

Cplumber
Nov 29, 2023 12:27 am

Like they say, no problem, no problem 🤣🤣🤣🤣 jk never heard that. If your stoma nurse says all good, I wouldn't lose any sleep over it.

Good night

Cplumber

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 35,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

Beachboy
Nov 29, 2023 2:45 am

Well... keep an eye on it. If it turns red or gets bigger, consult with a doctor.

Beth22
Nov 29, 2023 3:45 am

Sounds like you have mucocutaneous separation, where the skin separates away from your stoma. Do you notice an odor with it? I would just have your surgeon take a look, not wound care; they have no idea what they are talking about. Sad to say, but it's always a good idea when things arise to call your surgeon.

7dragonflies.hm
Nov 29, 2023 5:58 am