Summer Heat, Sweating, and Ostomy Leaks: Tips Needed

Replies
Views
ostomychik
May 14, 2024 11:49 pm

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie both here and to ostomy (not quite 5 weeks). I had my first "blowouts" last week, which now has me thinking about summer. I'm a big boater, jet skier, paddleboarder, and am now suddenly "pre-worrying" because I read that bag adhesion is more difficult in the heat (not to mention water). Living in the South, summer is nothing but hot—skin always "glowing." Thoughts, tips? Also, I am planning on using a filter sticker and catheter cover sheets (plastic sheets with adhesive around the edges) to help keep the water off the bag. I did buy a "cover," but it leaks even in the shower.

Mysterious Mose
May 15, 2024 12:19 am

I haven't had any problems with summer heat other than some itching due to sweat around the band of my underwear. I wear my shorts over the bottom of the tape. Most of my itching comes from around the outer edge of the wafer tape, and I use calamine spray to help relieve it. No problems with tape coming loose. That only happens when I am careless during changes, like forgetting to warm the wafer before application.

Daniel

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 35,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

ostomychik
May 15, 2024 12:24 am
Reply to Mysterious Mose

Thank you for the reply... Good to hear you don't have problems in the heat. One less thing for me to worry about.

AlexT
May 15, 2024 1:21 am