Who knows about parastomal hernias?

Replies
Views
bevck41

Hi, is there a fellow ostomate out there that knows much about parastomal hernias? 4 months ago, I had surgery for a hernia and at the same time, the surgeon re-fashioned my stoma. Then, after I had been home for 4 days, I got an abscess and ended up with peritonitis and had emergency surgery. Anyway, 4 months later, my hernia has come back. Is this normal, and what is the success rate with a hernia repair? I really don't want to go down that track again. Very confused!

Past Member

Hi, I had an ileostomy 12 months ago and have a hernia. I have heard that repair is not very successful. I tried all the support garments and belts that my stoma nurse had, and nothing was of any use and so uncomfortable. I found one belt on the web which is absolutely brilliant. It is the Nu Hope support belt. I wear it all the time, have even gone to bed with it on. It is so comfortable and the hernia is no problem now. Hope this helps. Peter.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,362 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

lottagelady
Hi, I have a huge parastomal hernia, which the docs want me to have sorted - however, it will mean a huge op including a repair to my recto-vaginal fistula and the changing of my loop ileostomy to an end ileostomy. I believe that hernia repairs are only likely to have a 50% success rate (?, please correct me if I am wrong, which I hope I am!), which I assume will be reduced if you already have a hole in the muscle - ie the stoma ?