What to do...

Replies
Views
Ake

Hi all

It's my first time posting here, have had my ileostomy since I was 12 (29 now, so quite a long time) and obviously I've had boyfriends and things have gone right and wrong and have been happy and sad like anyone else in this world. The thing is I have always done things the same way... Meet someone and go on dates, sort of to make sure they would like me enough for when I told them about the ostomy.

Never realised I acted this way until this year I met a super interesting guy and things got closer so had sex with him the same night... Had never done that before!! I felt "normal" for the first time and though I kept my shirt on so I wouldn't have to show him I highly enjoyed that new experience!

What I wasn't expecting was that we have been in contact for months now since that happened (he lives abroad) until we talked about seing each other again.... Now I am in a conflict because I feel like I need to tell him before we meet as if if I don't tell him I'll be lying or tricking him into meeting me. But at the same time thinking that makes it like he has the right to say he is not interested just because of the bag so I can still meet and talk to him face to face...

i don't know if any of you have been in a similar position but I would appreciate any advise to do things the best way for both me and my self steem and this great guy.

thanks!!

weewee

dont worry about it tell him so that its out in the open if he isment for you he will understand and not care

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,361 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.