When to change: Frequency and benefits

Replies
Views
iMacG5

It seems like we know everything there is to know about our stomas, the appliance and all that needs to be done and when. Yet it wasn't that long ago that we didn't know the difference, or if there was one, between barriers, barrier rings, barrier film or spray, wafer, base plate, etc. I mention this because there may be questions asked by newer folks and we (or I) need to slow down before throwing out stuff that was a mystery a short time ago. One of the real hazards for folks like us is not asking enough questions.

I'm not new to this but I'm still learning and would like to know your thoughts on some basic concepts starting with when to change the appliance. What constitutes too often or not often enough? Are there benefits to less frequent changes? 

Respectfully,

Mike

mild_mannered_super_hero

Mike, under ideal circumstances we would change 5 seconds before it leaks...that would give us the most service for the money spent.

A more logical method would be based on prior experience: how long does it normally last with a reliable seal? Subtract from this 1 day and here is your "fail safe" number.

I think the main benefit from stretching your wear time to the maximum while still being reliable is less stress on the skin from peeling off a well stuck flange.

Regards, MMSH

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,381 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

iMacG5

Great answer, mmsh.  You covered the economy, efficiency and skin care issues.  Thanks for the input.

Sincerely,