Stoma irrigation: Experiences with saline solution?

Replies
Views
Lmnman

Hello all.

I have been irrigating my colostomy for about a year and a half. I was wondering if anyone has experience with using saline solution or anything else for that matter. I feel like sometimes my irrigation affects my electrolyte balance. With the irrigation every other day and living in a humid climate (sweating), I feel that my electrolytes get out of whack. I live in the Philippines where stoma irrigation is not really heard of. I am self-taught on the practice, I just don't really have anyone to ask about it.

Thanks, Clint

Bill

Hello Clint.  Thanks for this interesting post, which gives me an opportunity of responding about something that has also bothered me on occasions. (ie. electrolyte imbalance)

I irrigate daily but not with anything other than water and sometimes I get very tired like I used to (many years ago) when long distance running. I thought that the tiredness might be to do with electrolyte imbalance so I tried the high5 electrolyte and magnesium drink and it did seem to help a bit. However, I also have very low blood pressure, which creates similar symptoms, so I don't really know what is the main cause of my problem. 

I am also not sure how flushing with a saline solution or anything other addition to the water would help that much, as the liquid is in and out in such a short period of time that it would not seem to have much chance for absorbing through the colon wall.

However, I am always open to new ideas and approaches, so I hope you get some replies from people who have tried this stuff and can comment in a more practically experienced way.

Best wishes

Bill

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,455 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.