Looking for Ostomy Cushion for Work

Replies
Views
judgelori

This may sound weird, but does anyone know of a product that is like a small cushion/foam type thing that can be placed inside your underwear right over your stoma area to protect it? I just started my part-time job back since chemo and I work as a cashier at a grocery store. After my first full shift, I realized my stoma was tender. It seems that I am pressed against the counter scanning groceries right where my stoma is. So, I was thinking about putting some sort of padding inside my underwear to kind of protect it when working. Is there such a product already or am I going to need to make something? Thanks.

Puppyluv56

Hi Lori,

Sounds as if your stoma is getting a workout. There are stoma shields that you can buy. I would think you could buy foam sheets as easily to slip over your stoma for protection. Hope this helps. Puppyluv

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,480 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

judgelori

Thanks. I've never seen stoma shields before. I'll check with my supply company and see if they have them. That may do the trick. I was just thinking about padding the area. :-)

Bill

Hello judgelori.