Using Mentos for Odor Control: Tips for Newbies

Replies
Views
Likafly

Hello, at my first teaching with the WOC nurse, she told me I could use Mentos for odor control. Do I just put it in the pouch, crush it, liquefy it? I'm a newbie to this. Thanks in advance! :-)

lovely

There have been a lot of questions about odor. Thanks for sharing.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,473 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

w30bob

Hmmm... I don't know... maybe you eat it! Regardless, I doubt Mentos would like to hear that people are using their mints for ostomy odor control. Just wouldn't make good ad copy. Here's hoping they don't find out!!

A quick Google search turned up a post on here from 2016 that said "drop some mints (Tic Tac or Altoids or Mentos) in the pouch"... so I guess you don't eat them. Huh. I would think carrying around a little bottle of mint extract might be a better solution... but I don't have odor issues. My crap isn't in me long enough to start fermenting and smelling. You can find McCormick Mint Extract in the baking aisle with the spices... or there's lots of online DIY mint extract recipes. Or... I guess you can just buy some stock in Mentos!! If this odor control thing catches on with Ostomates you could make some real stock dividends when the price soars!! I better go check their stock price now... just in case this becomes a "thing" with the Millennials.

;0)

Bob

Past Member