What is irrigation and how does it relate to ostomy surgery?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic explains the concept of irrigation and its relevance to ostomy surgery, with participants sharing their experiences and advice.
MaeRee

Hey y'all, I've read several posts talking about

"irrigation." What exactly are they talking about?

I'm a newbie, had my ostomy surgery in March.

This site has been the most helpful to me.
Thank you all that have contributed.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,095 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

lovely

Irrigation is like an enema but through your stoma.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
Axl

Previous answer by Padfoot

If you click on Collections at the top of this page, and then click on Premium Content, there is a section on Ostomy and Irrigation. You will find lots of forum posts there on the topic. If you have specific questions after reading that information, come back here, and we'll try to answer them.

Cheers Axl

Douglas john

Hi MaeRee.

I'm an avid and enthusiastic person who irrigates. If you want to forget about incontinence, then irrigation is for you. I'll write a blog soon and tell you all about it.

It's easy, it's relaxing and it's fun. (Well, nearly). An irrigation pump is better than a gravity bag, and there are several on the market. I hated wearing a bag with all the associated issues - changing and disposal, ballooning at inappropriate times, etc. Now a 'cap' is all I wear, and I forget about poo.

Douglas.

mild_mannered_super_hero