Open or Closed? Seeking advice on managing colostomy bags.

Replies
Views
Past Member

I'm new to the colostomy bag world. I am doing pretty darn well managing my open-ended Hollister two-piece bag. I empty it usually three times a day. I could go down to two times, I suppose, but don't want the weight on my still healing guts, even though my output is pretty low because I'm not a big eater.

I wonder about closed pouches. I'd be allowed two per day. So what is a person's schedule with two bags? After breakfast output, change to a new bag and wear that until the next morning? That seems like a long time.

Seeking people's personal use and preference! Thank you.

AlexT

I wear a drainable pouch but was told by my wound nurse that I could go to a closed pouch if I wanted to. My issue, for me, with closed pouches is that I would always have to carry a pouch with me in case I had enough output to warrant the need to change the bag. My work and my hobbies don't always have me close to a trash container so being able to dispose of a bag isn't as easy for me. Having the drainable allows me to empty just about anywhere without much issue. And, like you, I could get 60/month but there are days I need more than 2. Plus, do I want multiple piles of poop in my trash can waiting for trash day to come once a week? Right now, I have 2 small trash bags that have dirty ostomy bags per week going to the trash. If you figure 2 bags/day going in your trash that gets picked up once a week, I'd have 14 or more trash bags of poop in my trash. Just some things to consider as I have. Have a good day.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,362 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.