Need help finding pants for midline colostomy

Replies
Views
Catcando3

I am new to this. Just two weeks out from surgery, I have a stoma located midline (above my belly button, between the rib cage). I am a jeans-tee shirt type of gal, and I am having a hard time with finding any pants to wear that look like they might work. I don't want the stoma to be blocked or squeeze the bag so it won't fill properly. Does anyone have any suggestions for this? Please let me know if you can help me with any ideas.
Thank you.

Pinkie pooh

Do you have a colostomy or ileostomy?

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,318 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Catcando3

A colostomy.

Bill

Hello Catcando3.

I would look into the possibility of using irrigation at the earliest opportunity. This technique ( if successful) will free you from the need to wear a bag during the day and replace it with a plug, a patch or , if you're lucky, nothing at all. You will be able to wear whatever you like and the management of your stoma will be much easier. 

I was told that I needed to wait for 6 weeks after my surgery before I could irrigate but other's have been given different advice depending upon their circumstances.  It will pay to check with your stoma nurse and there are lots of videos and advice about irrigation on the WWW. (and on this site under 'Collections').

Best wishes 

Bill

Justbreathe

Skinny jeans are still in style (but maybe not for long) and I love them with a longer tee - any tight-fitting stretch pants are great as well.