Safe and Possible to Get a Massage with a Stoma?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic discusses the safety and feasibility of receiving a massage with a stoma, with participants sharing their experiences and advice.
yaya

I received a gift certificate for a Swedish massage at Christmas. I'm pretty new at this whole stoma dealy. Is it safe and possible to have a massage? Pretty anxious to hear from others. Thanks.

The Bag Lady ... Ile Oct 13, 2010

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,091 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Grammybec

I have a two-hour massage once a week. Since my surgery, I don't lie on my stomach for my back, I use a massage chair. I have both the bed and chair in my home, but a massage parlor should have both also. Just let them know what parts of your body you don't want them to touch, like the stomach area, and they will work around it. I love having my feet done, so I have an hour of reflexology, half an hour on my head, face, arms, and hands, and then get on the massage chair for a half-hour back massage. I actually enjoy the chair better than lying on my stomach before my surgery. You will feel great and want one every week. Let me know how it goes... Enjoy! Becky

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
yaya

Thank you, Becky. I am excited to have the massage done. I am coming off of Prednisone and have aches and pains that I can't wait to get rid of. Hoping the massage helps. Take care, Grammybec... I'm Yaya for my grands. Happy New Year. Jody

WOUNDED DOE