Surviving Hysterectomy Complications: Seeking Tips and Support

Replies
Views
cutie

This is my first time writing about my situation. I have now had my bag for about 6 weeks, still a lot to get used to.

On April 18th, I went in for a partial hysterectomy, 5 days later was rushed back in and had an emergency bowel surgery. My bowels had 3 small cuts in them.

This was not discovered in the hospital so after being home for 2 days, the poison had been leaking into my body for days.

I now have an ostomy bag on my left side, good news is it is not a lifetime thing for me. In about 6 months, I go back in to get this bag off and another one put on my right side (an ileostomy (sp)). I will have that for 8 weeks to make sure all infection is gone and all healed up nice.

While in the hospital, I needed 4 blood transfusions and many meds... never mind all the tubes and hoses from all parts of the body.

I was less than a day away from death...... I am blessed and so happy to still be here.

It has been something to get used to, and I still have my days where I feel sorry for myself. But most of the time, I try to stay positive and think of the good and not the bad.

I'm learning new tricks with my bag and the nurses are a great help, but everyone learns new things on their own..... I'd love to hear how you deal with this life change and any tips would be great.

Thank you, and I think everyone with a bag is a strong, beautiful person!!!!! Living with one isn't the easiest thing, but you all do it.... that alone makes you all amazing people :)

VALERIE