Stoma Output Sticking: Is This Normal?

Replies
Views
MoeMoe
Aug 20, 2023 1:07 am

Just a quick question since I'm new to all of this but my stoma output sticks to the stoma and doesn't always come down. It doesn't really “pancake” just doesn't all slide down and a bit is stuck right on the stoma. I drink a ton of water with my meals which helps. Does anyone have the same issue? Is this common and ok to stay like that until the next bag change? I'm afraid of infection or something happening to the stoma. Any info is appreciated!

Beth22
Aug 20, 2023 1:57 am

Hey there, so I have a tendency to always be thick no matter what I do... just the way my body is. But I get my fair share of pancaking, lol. So, you want it to get to the bottom of your bag. When it sits there, it will eat away at your wafer. A good trick is to put a little air in the bag. If your bag is vacuum-tight together, it doesn't have room to flow down. And if you can push the output down to the bottom of the bag. They will tell you lubricant deodorant... but for me, it doesn't work. It might for you though.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 35,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

IGGIE
Aug 20, 2023 5:45 am

Put some baby oil in the bag after each empty. Not a lot, just a small amount will help it move down and empty easier.

MoeMoe
Aug 20, 2023 7:05 am

Oh, I never thought of putting any in after emptying! Gonna try it, thanks!!

Bill
Aug 20, 2023 8:13 am
Reply to MoeMoe

Hello Moe Moe.