Participating in Martial Arts with an Ostomy: Safety Tips?

Replies
Views
Past Member

Hello good people,

Before I start, I know we ostomates can do pretty much anything we want to, if we put our minds to it. But….can we safely take a karate, taekwondo, judo, etc. class? I would like to know how to protect myself, in case a fight broke out at the supermarket, church or Walmart and/or there are no weapons available at the time to use. But, I also realize one kick to our stomachs and they'll be scraping us off the floor, bags and all. Boxing is an option, correct?

Beachboy

There are stoma guards available. But taking a kick or punch to the stoma or near it could still cause damage. I studied Karate for many years. Would be tough to do with a stoma. Good luck

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,628 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Ben38

Yes, and I did martial arts for many years. Just wear a stoma guard, and your stoma will be protected. Kicks/punches to your stomach will only do the same as they would have before you had a stoma.

Past Member
Reply to Beachboy

Thanks, I will keep that in mind.

Past Member
Reply to Ben38

Thanks, I might give it a try.

How to Manage Emotions with LeeAnne Hayden | Hollister
w30bob

Oh, I just couldn't wait to read the replies to this one! Kung-Fu for bagsters............love it.

Disciple Caine asked Master Tae "What is the best way to deal with force?".....and Master Tae replied "As we prize peace and quiet above victory, there is a simple and preferred method….run away."