Romance after Ostomy: How to Share My Story?

In this discussion
Replies
Views
MysticAngel
Hey there,
I'm new to the whole forum thing, but I've been reading through others' posts. The one about meeting another ostomate sparked a question of my own. So here it is: what about romance/love with anyone since your surgery? I have had Crohn's since I was 6. Most people don't know I'm sick at all, only my close friends and family. But I'm good at hiding it. I noticed when I was younger, as soon as someone found out how sick I was, they would treat me differently and look at me with sympathy, even though they didn't always mean to. I never let this affect my love life though. I was always lucky to find men who understood and knew me for who I am, not what I have. But sadly for me, that has all changed. For the first time in my life, I'm extremely self-conscious, so much that I don't even let a guy get close enough to ask me out. I've put up this wall. I recently moved to Ontario, and not a soul here knows I'm sick or have an ostomy. To tell a romantic interest about it terrifies me. I was lucky enough to get pregnant just after my surgery (a friend who knows me, I didn't need to tell him). He wasn't ready to be a dad, but I got the love of my life from him, so I threw myself into being a mom, and it's been awesome. I started my own business this year, so I keep busy. But this thought inside my head asks me every day if I'll ever find someone again, someone to share my days with who cares about me, because I know I have lots of love to give. Anyways, that is by far the most personal information I've ever shared, but I thought this might be a place where others have felt the same. So back to my question, if you found someone post-ostomy, how did you tell them, or did it scare you as well?
Hope everyone is well....
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,098 members. Get inside and you will see.