Need tips for longer-lasting wafer seal & skin protection?

Replies
Views
Jamie251

I am new to this. Ileostomy created March 14th after bowel resection for Crohn's. Needless to say, the phrase "shit happens" has taken on a whole new meaning with me these days! I am having trouble getting a good seal on my wafer and am only getting one to two days before it starts leaking. Anyone have any tips on getting the wafer to last a bit longer?
Also, my skin is very irritated under the wafer...what have you all found best for skin protection?

shan1989
Hi

I had to have a second op to move my ileostomy to the other side of the abdomen as I had loads of complications. I still only get 2-3 days before having to change it, but to me this is better than my 10 times a day! So unfortunately, I have no tips on that one, but as for your skin, the best thing I have found is sunlight/sunbeds. Not often, but every 2 weeks I have a 6-minute sunbed which clears my skin straight up! This may help your wafer to stick for longer if your skin is in good condition.
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,377 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Xerxes

What kind of a system do you use? For many years, I used a two-piece system by Hollister. A couple of years ago, I switched to a two-piece system by Convatec. What a difference! I went from one or two days to up to 5-6 days now. The difference is unbelievable. Before applying the wafer, try heating it with a hairdryer on high for several seconds. It will help with the adhesion of the wafer.

X_
shan1989