Seeking Support: New to Life with a Permanent Colostomy

Replies
Views
ddf4792

Hello!

I recently had a permanent colostomy after my year-long bout with rectal cancer. I am a 44-year-old male and just looking for people with similar experiences to speak with, as I am new to this lifestyle and would love to hear from others who have struggled and are thriving.

mild_mannered_super_hero

Hello and welcome to the site. I had the same cancer way back in 2000. It's very survivable. My first suggestion to you would be to find out from your doctor or stoma nurse if you are a candidate for irrigation. If so, invest the time to try it; it will give you back your active lifestyle and remove all the stress and complications from leaks, smells, etc. I do everything I did before my surgery. If I can be of help to you, shoot me a message👍

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,598 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Beachboy