Severe post-surgery pain after eating, seeking advice

Replies
Views
Linyera

Hi, this is my first time here, thank you all for sharing. This forum has been a partner since I got my surgery. This is my story:

10 weeks ago, I had a hemicolectomy after an intestinal invagination and a tumor removed. In total, they removed about 20 cm. The surgery went well, but after a few days, the suture failed and they had to operate again, putting me an ileostomy to take care of the healing intestine. A week later, there was another infection that was treated with antibiotics. Beyond small pains, after that, everything was going well until about 10 days ago when I started having a terrible pain that got worse after eating anything. The pain started in my stomach area but then radiated around my ileo, sometimes around my right ovary. It's really confusing. I went to the hospital, and they did all kinds of analytics, CT with contrast, ultrasound, and FX. Beyond a small collection of liquid (in an area where it doesn't hurt), they find nothing. The pain improved after several days of strong analgesics, but now it came back every time I eat something, whether it's rice or pasta. I mean nothing too heavy. The doctors tell me that in the studies, nothing strange comes out and that perhaps the pain is due to the rearranging anatomy, but it is really reeeeally strong. Anyone with a similar situation? I do not know what to do anymore. I can't deal with this every day, and I start to not want to eat to avoid pain.

Thank you all, cheers!

Tickpol

Way back when, I would have a terrific pain after eating a mouthful of anything with my Crohn's. When you put something in your stomach, it starts a whole bunch of processes going, many of which are preparing to process the food a while before the food actually reaches the affected segment.