Seeking Non-Adhesive Stoma Seal Ideas - DIY Ostomates

Replies
Views
w30bob

Bill, this is mainly directed toward you, but I didn't want to exclude any DIY lurkers in the crowd. Have you ever constructed a barrier seal that isn't adhered to the skin? What I'm envisioning is a thick "O-ring" type seal that sits around the stoma and is held in place by a belt or strap. There needs to be some type of "spring" or mechanism between the strap and the O-ring to hold it against the stoma as you move, and I'm not coming up with any good ideas for that part of it. So I'm wondering if you or anyone else on here has come up with something that seals, but doesn't use adhesives to do it. If anyone has.........or just has an idea or two.......I'd love to hear it. You can keep the patent rights.........I promise.

Thanks,

Bob

Footie97

Bob

I am no engineer but I am thinking about an assembly like a radiator cap that is spring loaded, obviously need an opening for the stoma. I am not sure how we will get around the no adhesive yet but it's a work in progress

Clint

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,423 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Bill

Hello Bob.

Thanks for the post.

I did indeed try to develop devices that would act as a barrier/seal without adhesive. However, none of them worked practically, because the mucus seeped under the device and it slid around like it was on a skid-pan surface. In the end, I used the same devices with a medical adhesive spray and they worked perfectly.