Bumps and Burning - Seeking Advice for Ostomy Care

Replies
Views
Beatles0826

Hi all. I have had my ostomy for just over a year now. I am still learning what to eat and when lol. My main concern is I seem to always have bumps around my stoma. Doing some research, it says maybe I am not cutting the hole large enough, but I don't feel that's the problem. The bumps don't hurt, but they sure do not look nice. I also tend to feel burning a lot, and again after research, I found it could be from leakage, but every time I decide to rip my appliance off, there is no residue to be found. I am at a loss..... Any suggestions will be most helpful.

AlexT

Can you describe the "bumps" better? Maybe you could post a picture or two in your profile of what you're dealing with. Unless you're one of the lucky ones that can figure out how to post pictures on a thread.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,370 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member

Hi Beatles 0826, maybe an allergy to the wafer/glue you are using? Do you have access to a nurse that has experience with stomas?

PS Welcome

TerryLT