Life with an Ostomy: Venting about the Challenges and Triumphs

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic provides a space for sharing experiences and advice on navigating the challenges and victories of living with an ostomy.
Poohgirl44

Well, this is my first time to blog here - actually, the first time to blog, period. I am not sure I even know how to blog! LOL. I just know that sometimes I just need to vent. This seemed like a good place to do it because I am sure there are folks on here who have felt what I am feeling. There are SO many different feelings that come along with this bag. Feelings that range from relief to confusion, to anger, to sadness.

I know that this thing saved my life, literally, but some days I just want to say "WHY ME" or screw it all!! This thing has changed my life SO MUCH. I have actually had it for a little over a year, but it seems like just yesterday that I woke up from emergency surgery with it attached to me. I thought I would NEVER learn how to change it on my own. And the leaks, oh my gosh! Especially when I was at work. How humiliating!!! I mean, really, what do you say - "Sorry, I have to go home because I have poop all over me?" I mean, they were really very nice about the whole thing and for that, I am grateful, but I still HATE it when that happens. Thankfully, it doesn't happen very often anymore.

Then there is the financial aspect. It is phenomenal!! You see, I have no insurance. I have had two hospital stays - both of them a month long. So you can probably imagine or maybe some of you have even experienced what that is costing me. Bills being sent to collection agencies because I am not paying fast enough to suit them. Most of them have been willing to work with me, but a few of them have been unbelievably ruthless! As if I have a money tree growing somewhere. LOL. If only I did, I would gladly pay them ALL!!

Well, I think I have rambled enough for now. So for tonight, I will say goodbye till next time.