Feeling trapped in a no-win situation

Replies
Views
CascadianAaron

The last four months or so have been a roller coaster for me. Basically, right before Christmas, my wife and I called it quits. There are lots of reasons, and I have my view of things (like, for instance, I've been fighting a debilitating slew of diseases for the past 10+ years...) and she has her views. Don't really need to get into them, I'm sure many of you have been there too with spouses who don't/can't/won't walk a mile in your shoes, so you know where this goes. Anyway, we agreed to play nice for Christmas and also a Spring Break trip we'd planned and paid for, and for the most part, we did. We also agreed to counseling, which we have been going to. But in the end, I am getting the impression that there is no win or lose here, just two people with vastly different views on things these days.

I've been quite sick with a nasty cold for about a month now (had it in Hawaii over spring break...fun) that really took me down this week and have missed a full week of work. I'm not ever someone that would ask to be waited on hand and foot, but it'd be nice if there was a little understanding from the wife that I'm already running on empty most days after work, so add a cold that has turned into walking pneumonia and I'm pretty much down for the count. But apparently, instead, this is the week to end the pleasantries and start digging at me and my disease once again. Forget that I hold down a full-time job and pay all the household bills. Forget that I do try to assist around the house, do yard work, etc. (yes, I will admit that when I am really tired, it doesn't get done right away, nobody has ever died because the lawn wasn't mowed this week!). Nope, I'm just a bad husband who doesn't pull his weight.