Is Dark Green Stool Normal After Ostomy Surgery?

Replies
Views
creinhart030805
Aug 07, 2023 9:41 am

So I had my ostomy right after my 18th birthday and after I graduated high school. I have a genetic dietary issue which caused a temporary pouch. My dad had the surgery before me and I thought, "Okay, I got this." I don't got this; I'm scared. For a couple of days, I was sick because of a bug and now I'm fine. But when I emptied my bag, it looked like black stuff in my bag. So when I was cleaning it after I emptied it, the black stool was actually dark green. I just don't know what that means or if it's bad. I haven't been in pain, and if I have, I can't tell because I've been having menstrual cramps. So, may I please have my question answered?

Axl
Aug 07, 2023 10:21 am

Hello C

Can't make much of your history here. However, for mine, green output is bile, produced by the liver, usually occurs when there is very little food in your system and often in the morning. Sounds like what you are describing. However, if in doubt, always run it by your doctor's.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 35,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

creinhart030805
Aug 07, 2023 12:29 pm
Reply to Axl

I have FAP. It affects my colon, so I had to get my large intestine removed, and I have to wear a temporary pouch for 6-8 weeks. Then I get a reversal done, but thank you Axel, you helped ease my mind a little.

CrappyColon
Aug 07, 2023 1:23 pm
Reply to creinhart030805