Adhesion issues

Replies
Views
kenpem

Hi folks

Permanent ileostomy since November 2022. Went through the usual teething problems, sampled everything and eventually settled on the Sensura Mio Click two-piece system. I've been wearing that for about 6-8 months now, I guess. Up until recently it was... ok. Good days and bad days, occasional blowouts, same as everyone else. The wafer stays on 2-4 days (being replaced at the first itch regardless of how long it's been on), with a pouch change every day or so (they don't have the greatest filters and tend to get a bit smelly).

But since late last year, I've been having problems with adhesion. I use skin barrier wipes. I'm very careful to gently clean with warm water only, making sure I've removed any residue from the previous appliance, and dry thoroughly (paper towels as last step just to make darn sure). I pre-warm the wafer (i.e. jam it in my armpit) while I'm getting everything else ready. As soon as it's applied, I quickly use the bottle-cap trick to ensure a good seal around the stoma, slap a new pouch on top and then hold everything firmly in place for a few minutes while I tidy away with my other hand.

And still the darn things don't want to stick nicely. I don't know if my skin-chemistry has changed (meds have been updated), or I'm sweating more than I used to. The only way I have any success at the moment is to immediately clip on a support belt (hate those things!), cinched up pretty tight, and go lie face-down on the bed (still with my hand holding firmly) for 10-15 minutes. Leave the belt on for the next couple of hours, then everything will be OK for a couple of days. If I'm lucky.

I've also had some luck with using wide strips of dressing tape overlapping the top of the wafer to hold the edges down, but these tend to irritate my skin on removal.