Info please from anyone!

Replies
Views
newbyinDakota

I am one and 1/2 weeks out from emergent colostomy for rectal tear following a hyst. Sick and infected....developed a bladder fistula as well....ok, so a colostomy, catheter, depends....and I am a nurse. My question is have you ever had a stool or output from your rectum?? I had a tiny, watery/fecal stool and am freaking that something else has gone awry....please help.

Maryallison
I haven't had these things happen to me as my situation is different, but I want to support you in your recovery.    You are a recent patient and some of these things can be a result of the newness of your surgery.    But of course, call your doctor if you have concerns.    In the meantime, know that we care here about what is happening to you;    I think most of us have had medical concerns following our surgeries.    Best of luck in your recovery and WE CARE!
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,358 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

TexasGirl
Hi Newby. I have a colostomy due to colorectal cancer. My rectum has been removed, but I do have a small opening. After my surgery, I did have a discharge, and sometimes it was a bit bloody, but my surgeon told me that was okay. If I exert myself, I will sometimes see a teeny bit of blood mixed in with a mucousy discharge that I have at times. But that is normal too. My thoughts are, if you have a colostomy and stool is coming from the rectum, where is it coming from? Best to have it checked out as soon as you can. Best to you, Debi
Txgirl