Reversal with hernia

Replies
Views
Rocky09

I have developed a hernia from coughing thru covid. I'm having reversal surgery in few months and am nervous about post op recovery. Anyone have advice?

Jayne

Hello

I suggest you practice 'reverse breathing' BEFORE you go in for surgery - [Guys apparently - according to my surgeons - find this easier then females - BUT IT IS WORTH GETTING THE HANG OF - took me the best part of 8 hours to learn in ITU - BUT IT IS VERY WORTH WHILE DOING ONCE YOU FINALLY GET THE HANG OF IT  - it saves no end of lung complications - cause the last thing you want with a post surgical hang is a collapsed lung - BEST TO BE FORTIFIES AND READY TO DEAL WITH THE WEAKENESS. GET YOUR GP / NURSING TEAM TO ENSURE YOU KNOW HOW TO DO IT  - PRACTICE IT>

CHECK WITH YOUR GP - becaus eof the covid first - as I have no experience of covid/long covid - AMD I AM NOT A MEDIC _

SO PLEASE DO NOT TAKE THIS SUGGESION BEFORE YOU HAVE CHECKED WITH YOUR OWN MEDICAL DOCTORS

[what worked for me may not be appropriate for you]

BUT DO ASK - because, I found it difficult to learn /perfect when I most needed it - IT WOULD HAVE BEEN SO MUCH EASIER FOR ME HAD I KNOWN ABOUT REVERSE BREATHING AND HAD PRACTICED IT AND BECOME PROFICIENT before my surgery!

tAKE CARE - ANDcheck it out - NO POINT IN STRESSING IF THERE IS A POTENTIAL PRE PREP WHICH MAY HELP

but promise to check with your doctor first

CHEERS

JAYNE

PS sorry about the caps - just seen them! - but sending as is

waves from the hills

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,624 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.