Need help with seal rings not sealing on abdomen - how to protect skin around stoma?

Replies
Views
suzeekew

Hi, newbie here. Please understand that as I ask you for advice.

I have an inverted abdomen around my stoma and the seal rings adhere to the skin barrier floating flange, but leave a large area of skin around the stoma that is not protected. In other words, it seems that the seal ring is not doing a dang thing and that the system is not working as expected. Does anyone have any experience in how to protect the skin surrounding the stoma when the seal just adheres to the skin barrier and floats?

mild_mannered_super_hero

Since I don't know your exact circumstance, I'll give you some tips that may work for you. The most common problem with anything not sticking is improper skin prep.

1: Wash the area with yellow Dial soap...it must be Dial and it must be original Dial! 95% of soaps have oils and/or perfumes.

2: Use a wipe on "Skin Prep", I use Coloplast #2041. Be aware that different skin types may require a different prep. Trial and error is the only way to determine for sure what brand works for you.

3: Use a convex skin barrier, with the hole cut to match your stoma size leaving just a slight clearance. The same concept applies for the brand of barrier as for the skin prep. Different skin types may react differently with different brands. You will have to try them all unless you get lucky on the first try.

4: You can warm the ring with a hair dryer before you put it on. This works very well for most folks. Change your barrier before it leaks to keep the skin healthy. Red, raw, "weeping" skin will not hold a seal with any product. Is your skin in good shape?

5: Contact every ostomy supply maker and request a sample of EVERYTHING. They are happy to send them and you can try different combos to find out what works best on your skin.

Good luck! Post your progress here if this info doesn't help and we'll adjust as required. Regards, MMSH