Hernia in Ostomy: Symptoms, Prevention, and Personal Experiences - Share your stories!

In this discussion
Replies
Views
About
This topic delves into the symptoms, prevention, and personal experiences related to hernias in ostomy, providing a platform for sharing stories and insights.
warrior

I saw some reading how Ostomy folks are more likely to get a hernia than most non osties. Well, how do you know this? Pain? Bulging at the site? I do have something resembling a boob growing at the site. The right side is much larger than the left. It's not tender nor giving me pain but damn is it gonna happen? As a mechanic, I don't even think about hurting myself but am getting older, and perhaps reckless thinking it ain't gonna happen to me. Of those here experienced with a stoma and a hernia, do tell, how'd you know? What did you do to cause it? How'd you fix it? Thanks.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,095 members. Get inside and you will see.

We're not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed in the forums.

It's a very special community, embracing all ages and backgrounds. People are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

iMacG5

Hi Warrior.  According to my surgeon, the longer we have an ostomy the more likely it is we'll get a hernia.  We mechanics get used to lifting, stretching, bending and whatever is needed to get the jobs done.  The advice from several experts is to avoid anything that causes us to GRUNT.  Some of us spent most of our working lives grunting and never gave it a thought.  Hernias suck.  Let's avoid them.

Mike

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate
warrior

Hi Mike. Thanks. Just thinking I may have one already and don't know it.

Blazest

Well hey there fellow warrior. Regarding hernias...