Vegetarian Diet for Ostomates: Tips & Experiences?

Replies
Views
Irishileo

Hi.

Is anyone here a vegetarian or tried that diet as an ostomate? I'm trying to incorporate more of that into my diet. Wondering how it works for you.

newyorktorque

Hi Irish. I have been a pescetarian long before my ileo. So I include seafood along with a vegetarian diet. You could say seafood is my meat. I have been eating this way for over 30 years and will not change. There are pros and cons, and I think you need to consider your own circumstances. I could benefit by eating meat for the protein, and I have a hard time keeping the weight on post ileo. The cons... meat makes your output smell. As a pescetarian, my sh*t doesn't stink lol

Just out of curiosity, I'm wondering what made you consider a vegetarian diet (if you're willing to share)

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,375 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Bill

Hello Irish.

I have been a vegetarian for as long as I can recall, so when I got my stoma (many years ago), my diet did not change. I have not come amiss with dietry things so far, but everyone is different in this regard, so I would be inclined to simply keep trying different foods until you find those that don't agree with you for some reason. The basic principle still remains with whatever you eat : -chew- chew and chew again, and if that doesn't work, then liquidise the food before you eat it. 

Best wishes

Bill 

Maried