Meet & talk to fellow OstoMates Support | Friendship | Dating 20,926 members

Vegetarian diet

Posted by Irishileo, on Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:34 am

Hi ✋

Is anyone here a vegetarian or tried that diet as an ostomate? I'm trying to incorporate more of that into my diet & wondering how it works for you.

Reply by newyorktorque, on Sun Mar 29, 2020 8:28 am

Hi Irish.  I have been a Pescetarian long before my ileo.  So I include seafood along with a vegetarian diet.  You could say seafood is my meat.  I have been eating this way for over 30 yrs and will not change.  There are pros and cons and I think you need to consider your own circumstances.  I could benefit by eating meat for the protein and I have a hard time keeping the weight on post ileo. The cons...meat makes your output smell.  As a pescetarian my sh*t doesnt stink lol 

Just out of curiousity I'm wondering what made you consider a vegetarian diet (if you're willing to share)

Reply by Bill, on Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:01 am

Hello Irish.

I have been a vegetarian for as long as I can recall, so when I got my stoma (many years ago), my diet did not change. I have not come amiss with dietry things so far, but everyone is different in this regard, so I would be inclined to simply keep trying different foods until you find those that don't agree with you for some reason. The basic principle still remains with whatever you eat : -chew- chew and chew again, and if that doesn't work, then liquidise the food before you eat it. 

Best wishes

Bill 

Reply by Maried, on Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:51 am

I eat a lot less meat but cannot do total vegetarian because my stomach becomes super loud! I have to limit myself to 2 fruits or vegetables a day. The office I work in is very quiet and there is no way I can muffle all the noises... I sound like a whopper cushion!

Reply by Bellisima, on Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:49 pm