Tips for Managing Colostomy with Low Vision?

Replies
Views
Nana27523

I am brand new to this and functionally blind. I am looking for any tips I can use to learn how to manage my colostomy given my low vision?

What can I tell the people helping and teaching me to help them help me.

In Triangle area and working with Duke if anyone has connections here?

Oh and they didn't investigate the blockage during the surgery, apparently want to have Gastro do a colonoscopy...at 89 not sure I want to bother...

Thanks

Puppyluv56

Wow Nana,

This is a tough one. Praying you have the resources and support system in place to help you get through this.
If you are able to care for yourself, in changing or emptying pouches, I would get a stand-up magnifying mirror to help. I was given one in a kit from the hospital at the time of surgery. I found I did not need it once I got home. I have a large mirror in my bathroom but in your case, with limited vision, it just may help some. Maybe even a lighted one.

Depending on your type of Ostomy, needs are different!
Do you have a Colostomy or Ileostomy? You came to the right place for answers. Everyone will chime in that can offer any tips.
Take care,

Puppyluv

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,473 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.

Privacy is very important - the website has many features that are only visible to members.

Create an account and you will be amazed.

Past Member

Hi Nana,

First, I hope you are able to keep yourself safe during this crazy pandemic. It is a scary time to be living in, especially with hospital visits.